Month: January 2009

  • Facebook Fever!

    I love love love Christine. I would just like to say that I’ve watched every one of her videos. It’s her innocent comedy that gets me. Note, I’ve never heard her swear in any of her videos. And here I am, thinking you gotta express your comedic talents with swear words because it just ain’t the same without the ef word when you stub your toe. Or something.

    Ya’ll guilty. I know.

     

  • Worst Version.

    Have you ever caught yourself in the worst version of yourself?

    I think I did yesterday. As I got onto the bus with Rachel, I didn’t wait to complain about how I hate the fact I have to be back in class after 2.5 months of York University being on strike.

    “I hate the fact that I’m commuting for just one class. I hate it how I have to go to school. I hate it how I’m having the time of my life right now and I have to be back in the prison classroom. I don’t like the program that I am in right now, I want to do real estate…”

    And I just didn’t shut up.

    Then Rachel caught me in the midst of it all and said, “You know, you don’t have to come to school if you don’t want to.”

    “Yeah but…”

    “But” was all I could say because it’s true. When did I turn so egocentric? So ungrateful? So spoiled?

    I had to turn my head away from Rachel so that I could search some light from the window. I dipped my head in shame, and as I looked outside, all I could think of is how there are millions of people around the world right now that wishes that they were in my position. To be able to have an education, and everythign else that I am blessed with in life. And here I am, complaining.

    This isn’t the worse thing that could happen to me. And a million other things that I probably complain about that are truly just blessings — but in which I think they are never good enough.

    I snickered at my worst self. “I am pathetic.”
    Hopefully by being mindful, I will never have to see that side of me ever again.

     

  • I Am Smiling.

    Because I understand now. Everything that people couldn’t answer, everything he wouldn’t answer, I went out and got answers for. And damn, does it feel better than ever. After months, hours, minutes of talking, expressing, crying, praying; it all becomes so crystal clear.

    And she’s right,
    forgiveness is such a sacred and precious thing for me to give.
    Yet, whom I want to give it to, probably doesn’t even acknowledge the wrong.

    And so I realized:
    That I am not responsible for his well-being anymore
    That I am not responsible for his change.
    That I am not responsible whether he see the lessons in our fall.
    That I am not responsible for him at all.

    It lies within his choice.

    Many people have tried to show me the facts, but it just doesn’t make sense until you take a step forward and start believing it. And when you believe — oh life changes. Life. Changes. And nothing, and I mean nothing, can stop you from there. A weight lifted up.

    I’m just going up from here baby… Life IS good. God is good.

     

  • Passion To Accomplish.

    January 16 2008 002

    I started to learn how to cook.
    Reason for the title?
    I told myself I was gonna learn how to cook. so I did.
    I always told myself that sometimes it’s not the content of the actions that pushes me,
    but the spirit of accomplishment that drives me.

    For those that didn’t believe in me…
    this is a start.

    _______________________________

    I love love love this song.
    I secretly (well, not so secret anymore), have a list of songs in which inspires me and that I would only wish to dance to one day. No, not the dance-in-your-room dance. I mean dance.
    When I get better at Ballet, maybe I’ll let the world in for a glimpse. 

     


    Halo – BeyoncĂ©

  • I want to know absolutely NOTHING about him.
    I want to be as far away from him as possible.
    I want to stop thinking back on memories
    in which he chose to create with dishonesty.
    I want our lives to untangle itself.

    As if we never ever existed.

    I’m learning how to forgive, but it’s harder than ever.
    One day, one day….

  • Obama Baby.

     

    I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to take a bus to Washington to watch Obama’s inauguration. I don’t have work or school today. I feel regret creeping up.

    Like they say, you don’t have to be African American or American for that matter, to appreciate what that man stands for.

    I am a Canadian by the way. And 26% of the poll-takers would vote for Obama over any of our home grown leaders any day. That’s what they said.

     

     


    ______________________

    Edit: This is the day that we chose Hope over fear.

    Don’t you just love the ending to the Benediction?

  • Answer Me This Question:

    IMG00076-20090108-1435


     

  • Tattoo


    The ingredient to success in life, I believe is….


    January 11 2008 007


    Humility.


     


    I  have an ego. An unforgiving one. So I got myself a tattoo to remind me everyday of what I am trying to reach. If I keep reaching for humility; money, success, love, happiness will follow through indefinitely.


     


    _________________


     


     


    January 16 2008 019


    Nice try Tony. Haha.
    Yeah. It’s getting ashy and the skin is starting to peel off. Lotion time!


     


     


     


     


  • Double Standards

    …works with both genders.


    Her: Yeah, so I said that to him today.
    Me: Really? Don’t you think it’s a bit harsh?
    Her: No.
    Me: Well, has he ever said that to you?
    Her: No! He better not, or I’ll dump his ass!


    ___________________


    Him: You can’t hang out with him anymore.
    Me: Why not?
    Him: Because you can’t.
    Me: Uh, but what about your 23498 gal pals that you hang out with?
    Him: Doesn’t matter, you can’t hang out with him.




    Seriously, sometimes, relationships can get so hypocritical to a point where it is sickening.

    How do you deal with double standards in your relationships?





  • Selfish
    By Asia Cruise


    Let’s start by correcting ya tone
    Lower ya finger, don’t be comin’ at me
    With condescending demeanor
    We both know that ya dead wrong
    And what makes it worse you don’t even have the nerve
    To ever say that you’re sorry

    You’re never wrong and i’m never right and
    You win all the rounds and every fight
    That’s why

    Can’t stay another day when you’re always
    Getting your way, you just keep getting your way
    You just keep getting your way, ya selfish!
    So i decided not to get in your way
    It’s time to do it my way and that means
    Getting away from you, ya selfish!

    How is it that you can look at us and only see you
    You can look at one but, never would you ever see two
    You can live a lie and never be true
    It’s so funny now, how completely i can see you


    You’re never wrong and i’m never right and
    You win all the rounds and every fight
    That’s why

    Can’t stay another day when you’re always
    Getting your way, you just keep getting your way
    You just keep getting your way, ya selfish!
    So i decided not to get in your way
    It’s time to do it my way and that means
    Getting away from you, ya selfish!

    No, we don’t need to talk
    Ain’t nothin’ left to say
    You got everythang ya want
    Go ahead and grab ya cake
    I know what’s best for me
    We go our separate ways
    Leaving you with everything
    Even all the pain

    Can’t stay another day when you’re always
    Getting your way, you just keep getting your way
    You just keep getting your way, ya selfish!
    So i decided not to get in your way
    It’s time to do it my way and that means
    Getting away from you, ya selfish!